Chatter Tongue Gossip

Thoughts on Love, Sex & Entertainment

Adam Lambert – IS BACK IN THE NEWS!

Ok, ladies!!!  Adam Lambert is back in the news!  ( insert: screaming and clapping sounds here. )  Apparently–ET did an interview with “The Prince of Passion”  and HERE IT IS! 

The “American Idol 2009 Summer Tour” kicked off on July 5. Now, ET talks to season eight runner-up Adam Lambert about the tour, his upcoming album and why he chose to wait so long to come out.

ET: Can you talk about how you envision your upcoming album?

Adam Lambert: I am so excited, because I am getting to write with the top people in the business and that is such an honor. I never would have never gotten that opportunity if it hadn’t been for this. A lot of people go, “Are you rock, or are you pop? What’s your genre?” I did a bunch of different genres on “Idol,” so I don’t know why I have to pick one. It will definitely have elements of rock, but the production on it, the instrumentation sonically will be very modern and electronic. The word “pop” as a classification means that it is popular. All that really entails is that it is catchy. So, I want to write a bunch of catchy, rock-electro, dance, disco things with a lot of glam to it. Glam is about the visual presentation. It has very little to do with the actual music.

ET: What will you perform on the tour?

Adam Lambert: I am doing a David Bowie medley at the end of my set: “Life on Mars?,” “Fame” and “Let’s Dance.” We are doing it much like I am doing my album. We are trying to produce them with an electronic, dance-driven edge. Hopefully, it will set the tone for the type of material I am doing.

ET: In the interview that you did following the “American Idol” finale, you wouldn’t talk about your sexuality. Yet you did for Rolling Stone. Why did you wait? Did you think it would make a difference? Did you know you had the cover?

Adam Lambert: A little bit of both. The reason that I waited was I wanted to be able to sit down and explain myself. I didn’t want it to be an isolated thing. I wanted it to be a full article, 100 percent me, no filter. In a press junket, it felt as if it was cheapening the truth of it. I was also waiting to see how active the press would be in trying to get that answer out of me before I came forward with it. I never thought it was really a big deal because I have lived my life that way for a long time, and the people I associate with don’t think it is a big deal. It was interesting to wait a little while to see what it would be like. There was a lot of speculation. You know what? I think part of being a showman is creating suspense and demand and interest, so I am not going to lie and say I didn’t plan it a little bit.

ET: What is the must-have item you are going to take on the tour?

Adam Lambert: My iPod. I definitely need music. It is a great escape when you need to separate from everybody. Throw on the headphones and you are in your own little world.

ET: How will you deal with the stress of the tour?

Adam Lambert: I am going to try to be a little more physically active, get into some stretching. I want to use the gyms at the hotels we end up at and do some cardio. I think when you keep in shape, it keeps your head in shape. We don’t always get that opportunity. “Idol”‘s schedule was really full and we didn’t have time to work on our physical selves.

ET: Your life has changed tremendously since you started doing this. Can you tell us how?

Adam Lambert: All these opportunities. It is unbelievable. I would have had to beg and scream to get these types of chances before. Also, the anonymity flies right out the window. It is hard to go places and not get noticed. People come up to you and say, “I love you and I want to take my picture with you.” It is cool that you have touched them with music, but it can get a little bit overwhelming at times when you turn into a tourist attraction.

ET: What would people be surprised to learn about you?

Adam Lambert: I feel that people ask me that a lot and I don’t know. I feel that I have talked about everything. I cracked my life right open. I have tried to rack my brain over that.

ET: What are your personal goals?

Adam Lambert: I just want to make cool music and wear cool clothes. It is not much deeper than that. I want to entertain people and figure out new ways to get people’s attention, keep them dancing and maybe cross over to other forms of media — maybe TV and film in the future, maybe fashion. We will see what the future holds.

ET: What part of America are you looking forward to seeing the most?

Adam Lambert: It will be interesting to go to places I have never been before, but we don’t get a lot of time outside of the tour venue. I think I am most excited about doing the shows in California because I have a lot of family in the Bay area and tons of family and friends here in L.A. and San Diego, my home town. Also, I am excited about the New York shows because we are there like a week.

The “American Idol 2009 Summer Tour” continues to wend its way across America, wrapping up on September 15 in Manchester, NH.

July 9, 2009 - Posted by | Adam Lambert, Celebrity Gossip | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

