Chatter Tongue Gossip

Thoughts on Love, Sex & Entertainment

Hair Bands from RECYCLED CONDOMS !

HEALTH  WARNING !

I’m all for recycling and helping keep the planet green…  This, however, is just a little overboard!  This literally make me sick to my stomach…

Although I know that I probably shouldn’t, I always put my ponytail holder between my teeth as I pull up my hair as I’m sure millions of women do.  NEVER AGAIN!  I may never wear my hair in a pony tail again…

C1

C2

C3

BEIJING (AFP) – Used condoms are being recycled into hair bands in southern China threatening to spread sexually-transmittable diseases they were originally meant to prevent, state media reported Tuesday

In the latest example of potentially harmful Chinese-made products, rubber hair bands have been found in local markets and beauty salonsin Dongguan and Guangzhou cities in southern Guangdong province, China Daily newspaper said .

‘These cheap and colorful rubber bands and hair ties sell well . . . . Threatening the health of local people,’ it said .
Despite being recycled, the hair bands could still contain bacteria and viruses, it said .

‘People could be infected with AIDS, (genital) warts or other diseases if they hold the rubber bands or strings in their mouths while waving their hair into plaits or buns,’ the paper quoted a local dermatologist who gave only his surname, Dong, as saying . A bag of ten of the recycled bands sells for just 25 S en (three cents), much cheaper than others on the market, accounting for their popularity, the paper said .

 

You can find this and other interesting articles on our home page.  Just click on this link   wttp://womensthougths.wordpress.com/  Hope to see you there!  

We would Love to hear from you!  Click on comments below and tell us what you think.

June 26, 2009 - Posted by | Health | , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I can see it now — men growing their hair out, women beginning to wear pony tails… “I swear dear, I must have caught it from that damn infected hair band! It wasn’t the toilet seat at all! See?? It says right here…”

    (I’m going to buy some gloves now so I can take my hair down… don’t want to touch that damn thing twice.)

    Comment by trickeybusiness | June 26, 2009 | Reply

    • HAHAHHA YOU ARE HALARIOUS!!! I never even thought of that!

      Comment by margieweatherbes | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. I wear these hair bands all of the time!!!!! Yuck, Guess like I’ll have to open a pack and cut one apart just to be sure there are no used raincoats….YUCK…………

    Comment by Cinoda Reed | June 28, 2009 | Reply

    • There is one kind that you can unroll… I checked mine after I read this. I think Im safe. I wonder if it says of the package where they are from or if they package them after they get to the US..

      Comment by margieweatherbes | June 29, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

